www.mdjuco.org Tracking ID: UA-118313606-1 Global Site Tag:

Howard Men, Anne Arundel Women Claim XC Titles

HAGERSTOWN, Md. - The Howard men and the Anne Arundel women were crowned 2015 MD JUCO Champions on Saturday. Howard's Corey Young was the individual medalist on the men's side and Howard's Margaret Niland took home championship honors for the women.

The Dragons had five runners finish in the top 11 en route to the team title with a team total of 26. Southern Maryland finished second with 37 and Hagerstown rounded out the top three with a 67.

Young crossed the line at 28:03, thirty seconds ahead of second-place finisher Chris Vitek of Harford. Jarod Barnes of Howard finished third (28:43), followed by Patrick Jones  of Southern Maryand. Isaiah Merrill (Hagerstown), Jacob Mwanthie (CSM) and Casey Sims (Harford) rounded out the top seven and earned All-MD JUCO honors.

For the champion Dragons, Young (1st), Barnes (3rd), Jake Staley (8th), Dom Mandile (10th) and Isiah Garner (11th) contributed as the top five runners.

The Riverhawks saw their top five finishers place in the top 12, including Mary Ajoh Kuch, who crossed the line in 20:39 for second place. Anne Arundel won the team title with 32 points, followed by Howard's 40 and CCBC Essex with 58.

Howard's Niland win the individual title by 31 seconds with a time of 20:08. Hagerstown's Annie Noffsinger finished third and Howard's Amani Jones was fourth. Erin Chamberlin and Sidney Hinkle of Anne Arundel and Howard's Olivia Cleckner rounded out the top seven to earn All-Conference honors.

Ashlyn Touart (11th) and Romina Mont Rodruiquez (12th) completed the Riverhawks' top five runners that helped win the league title.

Complete Results

All-MD JUCO Teams